Featured Links

Contact

Clinical Operations Division
1600 Ninth Street, Rm. 400
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 651-5330

E-mail Icon

DSH – Psychiatry Opportunities!

A MESSAGE FROM DR. KATHERINE WARBURTON, CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF STATE HOSPITALS MEDICAL DIRECTOR:

Please consider a rewarding career in Psychiatry with the California Department of State Hospitals (DSH).

As a DSH staff psychiatrist, you will benefit from the services and teaching of national experts Dr. Stephen M. Stahl, M.D., Ph.D., Director of DSH Psychopharmacology Services; and Dr. Charles L. Scott, M.D., the lead DSH forensic consultant.

California’s DSH psychiatrists are offered a wide range of monthly salaries starting at $18,509.00 for board-eligible, and $18,994–$23,966 for board-certified. California state employees receive a comprehensive, competitive benefits and retirement package which includes several types of leave benefits. Staff may accrue up to 20 hours of vacation or annual leave per month based on length of state service and type of position. Call is compensated and usually not mandatory.

For more information, please contact the DSH Recruitment Unit at (916) 654-2612 or DSH.Recruitment@dsh.ca.gov

Katherine Warburton, D.O.
California DSH Medical Director
You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

This interactive map illustrates the DSH sites. These links include the Sacramento Office and eight state hospitals -- three of which (Salinas Valley; Stockton; and Vacaville) are housed within California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) institutions.

We are now actively recruiting at the following DSH Hospitals – Atascadero, Coalinga, Napa, Salinas Valley, Stockton and Vacaville. Please select these hospital location links for more information.

Map of California State Hospitals napa sacramento vacaville stockton salinas coalinga atascadero metropolitan patton

The California Department of State Hospitals (DSH) is looking for creative and talented individuals who enjoy working with and helping people, and who are interested in joining a team dedicated to providing quality mental and medical health services to its patients and clients.

  1. Step 1: Review the licensing requirements of both the Medical Board of California and the Osteopathic Medical Board of California
  2. Step 2: Apply for DSH Psychiatry Exam using the Standard State Application Form (STD 678)
  3. Step 3: Participate in a hiring interview
  4. Step 4: All newly appointed state employees participate in a probation period

DSH is dedicated to assisting qualified individuals in finding career opportunities. We strongly encourage all serious candidates to contact the Clinical Operations Division via e-mail at DSH.Recruitment@dsh.ca.gov

DSH is dedicated to assisting qualified individuals in finding career opportunites. We strongly encourage all serious candidates to contact the Clinical Operations Division via e-mail at

Email: DSH.Recruitment@dsh.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 651-5330

Please contact the DSH facilities directly for more information:

DSH PSYCHIATRY RECRUITMENT

FACILITY

POINTS-OF-CONTACT

DSH – Atascadero

Harold Carmel, M.D., Chief Psychiatrist
Email:  Harold.Carmel@ash.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 805-468-2046

DSH – Coalinga

Sarbjit Aujla, M.D., Chief of Psychiatry (A)
Email:  Sarbjit.Aujla@csh.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 559-935-7311

Robert Withrow, M.D., Medical Director
Email:  Robert.Withrow@csh.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 559-935-4304    

DSH – Metropolitan

Nady Hanna, M.D., Medical Director (A)
Email:  Nady.Hanna@msh.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 562-651-2227

Paul Ananias, D.O., Chief of Psychiatry (A)
Email:  Paul.Ananias@msh.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 562-651-4327

DSH – Napa

James Young, M.D., Assistant Medical Director
Email:  James.Young@nsh.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 707-253-5434

Helen Tierney, M.D., Chief of Psychiatry
Email:  Helen.Tierney@nsh.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 707-253-2637

DSH – Patton

Wadsworth Murad, D.O., Chief of Professional Education
Email:  Wadsworth.Murad@psh.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 909-425-6141

Nitin Kulkarni, M.D., Medical Director (A)
Email:  Nitin.Kulkarni@psh.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 909-425-7326

DSH – Salinas Valley

Daniel Bleman, M.D., Medical Director
Email:  Daniel.Bleman@dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 831-678-5500 ext. 7382

Mark Ritchie, M.D., Senior Psychiatrist (A)
Email:  Mark.Ritchie@dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 831-678-5500 ext. 7337

DSH – Stockton

Juan Arguello, D.O., Medical Director
Email:  Juan.Arguello@dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 209-831-0307

Marcia Mshewa, M.D., Senior Psychiatrist Supervisor
Email:  Marcia.Mshewa@dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 916-956-8904

DSH – Vacaville

Akbar Gilani, M.D., Medical Director
Email:  Akbar.Gilani@vpp.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 707-449-6589

Sunil Kishan, M.D., Senior Psychiatrist (Supervisor)
Email:  Sunil.Kishan@vpp.dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 707-448-6841 ext. 2828