Department of State Hospitals (DSH)
SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATOR (SVP)
INDEPENDENT EVALUATOR FOR THE SEX OFFENDER COMMITMENT PROGRAM (SOCP)

DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES

The California Department of State Hospitals (DSH) is seeking mental health professionals to
provide specialty forensic evaluation services pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code Section
6600 et seq., including, but not limited to:

Forensic psychological evaluations and evaluation reports,
Court preparation and testimony regarding evaluations,
Consultation related to evaluation services,

Peer reviews of evaluation services as assigned, and
Training Instructor services upon request.
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These services must be performed at a variety of locations throughout the state, to include, but
not be limited to state prison facilities, state hospitals, county jails and county courts.

BACKGROUND

The California Sexually Violent Predator (SVP) Act, contained in Welfare and Institutions Code
Section (WIC) 6600 et seq., was enacted in October 1995 and became effective January 1, 1996.
It established a new category of civil commitment for individuals found, upon release from
prison, to be sexually violent predators. Since its implementation in 1995, the program has
undergone considerable change and growth, most significantly in late 2006 with the passage of
Jessica’s Law and Senate Bill 1128, which increased the number of qualifying crimes from nine (9)
to thirty-five (35) as well as lowering the requisite number of victims from two to one.

The Sex Offender Commitment Program (SOCP) administers the provisions of the SVP Act. SOCP
contracts with experts in the field of forensic psychology/psychiatry to evaluate, perform risk
assessments and testify in court regarding their evaluation decisions. The evaluations are time
sensitive and must be completed prior to the inmate’s release or court date. Failure to perform
these services accurately and timely could result in the release of a potential sexually violent
predator and thereby compromise public safety.

TASKS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

Conducts psychological interviews of sex offenders and/or sexually violent predators, forensic evaluations,
final diagnoses, applies risk assessment measures of correctional facility inmates, state hospital patients,
and other high-risk sex offenders or sexually violent predators located in other facilities. Adheres to
Forensic Services Division (FSD) policies, standards, and guidelines. Prepares and presents expert
testimony in SVP hearing procedures.
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MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS

1. Resident of California, OR non-resident agrees to accept that the State of California travel
reimbursement rates will begin at the State line nearest their home.

2. Possession of a valid license to practice psychology issued by the California Board of Psychology,
OR possession of a valid California medical or osteopathic license AND completion of psychiatric
residency approved by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology to practice psychiatry.

3. Atleast five years experience in the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders.

4. NOT to be a State Government or a Forensic Conditional Release Program employee.

5. At least 20 hours of forensic expert witness testimony in high risk offender cases or Sexually
Violator Predator cases; or 10 hours court appearances where forensic expert testimony was
provided. (Training administered by the Department of State Hospitals on expert eye witness
testimony may be used to satisfy up to 10 hours of the required 20 hours as specified.)

6. Inthe last two years, has been trained on sex offender risk assessment tools appropriate for
assessing risk for sexual recidivism. Demonstrated training on the STATIC 99R is specifically
required and training on at least one dynamic assessment tool is also required. This may
include, but is not limited to the STABLE 2007, SRA:FV, or VRS-SO.

7. Three references for which similar services have been provided within the last five years.

8. If a California corporation, provide a copy of the corporation documents on file with the
California Secretary of State. Corporations located outside California must submit an affidavit to
show the corporation is in good standing in that state, province, or country.

9. If a psychiatrist, provide a copy of a valid physician’s license issued by the Medical Board of
California.

10.If a medical or psychological corporation, provide a copy of the Fictitious Name Permit on file
with the California Department of Consumer Affairs under the name of the medical or
psychological corporation used.

The new panel evaluators must acknowledge that their first five reports will be subject to 100% peer
review and corrective feedback. All ongoing work will be subject to random peer review.

Additionally, the new panel evaluators are responsible for their own training and proficiency in SVP
evaluation.
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BUDGET DETAIL

Service

Rate

Psychological Evaluations

$ 3,250.00 (Per case)

Update Evaluations

$3,250.00 (Per case)

Replacement Psychological Evaluations

$4,500.00 (Per case)

Recommitment/Independent Psychological Evaluations

$ 4,500.00 (Per case)

Addendums — Upon request from DSH only

$ 500.00 (Per case)

Suspended Cases

$ 200.00 (Per case prior to interview)

$ 950,00 (Per case post interview)

C-File or Medical File Review (Prior approval required)

$ 175.00 (Per case)

Initial Court prep time (maximum of 15 hours without prior approval). (Additional 5 hours of court preparation time

available if requested in writing and approved by FSD Chief Psychologist.

$ 175.00 (Per hour)
20 hours Max of § 3,000 (Per case)

Additional court prep time due to continuance past 3 months on same case (maximum of 5 hours with
submission of original subpoena and current subpoena) if requested in writing and approved by FSD Chief

Psychologist

$ 175.00 (Per hour) 5 max $750.00

Additional court prep due to “exigent circumstances” during trial per case (such as additional record or research review,
multiple overlapping court appearances, etc. If requested in writing and approved by FSD Chief Psychologist).

[$ 150.00 (Per Hour) 5 hours max $500

Mandatory DSH Trainings

See Paragraph B. below

Testimony time per subpoena (subpoena document must be provided)

$ 175.00 (Per hour)

Court wait time per subpoena

$ 100.00 (Per hour)

Depositions

$ 150.00 (Per hour)

Travel for evaluations and court work

$ 50.00( Per hour)

Audio taping and mailing — when required and preauthorized

Actual costs with receipts

Copying and mailing records for subpoenas

Actual costs with receipts

Attendance at SVP contract staff meetings or mandated training.
Attendance to mandated training will be at the discretion of FSD Chief Psychologist and requires pre-approval

$100.00 per face-to-face training hour (uf
Travel time $50.00 per hour

If you are interested in applying:

Please complete the attached application.
Please send your current Curriculum Vitae/Resume.

On the CV/Resume, clearly mark your five-year post licensure experience in the diagnosis and
treatment of mental health disorders annotated in the yellow highlight.

Forensic evaluation writing sample.
Copy of your licensure.
Send the application to one of the following:
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EMAIL: Subject: SVP Independent Evaluator
SVPIndependentPanel@dsh.ca.gov
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MAIL:

Attn: SVP Independent Evaluator Panel
Department of State Hospitals
Forensic Services Division

1600 9th Street, Room 410
Sacramento, CA 95814



